Coins Reviews

Good App

by Arnoninus – May 19, 2018 ; version 1.11 ★★★★☆

QuotesBeginMore options about report and export will be a good evolution of this app. Thanks for numismats !!!QuotesEnd

Simple but effective

by Hurstpierpoint – May 1, 2018; version 1.10 ★★★★★

QuotesBeginThis is a really useful piece of software if you are a UK collector and want something that allows you to catalogue and value your collection without getting too complicated. The support is first class and I can thoroughly recommend it.QuotesEnd

I LOVE THIS APP!!!!

by Dina420 – Dec 3, 2016; version 1.5 ★★★★★

QuotesBeginTHIS APP IS FANTASTIC!!!! So I had inherited a fairly large coin collection a couple of years ago, passed down from my grandpa to my dad, then on to me. Since then, I on more than one occasion had tried to make a spreadsheet or something similar to catalog them all with the pertinent information and a photograph of each coin, however not being too tech savvy I gave up after multiple attempts and the coins have sat dormant for some time now. Then I ran across this app, it was EXACTLY what I was trying to do for myself but failing miserably at. This app is everything I need, right down to the ability to add a quantity count as in some cases I have duplicates and triplicates and sometimes even more of the same coin. This app keeps a running total of your coin count and it’s value. It has made what was once going to be a grueling and daunting task an enjoyable pleasure. Absolutely sublime :)QuotesEnd

Just what I needed for my coin and medal collection

by t0p6un – Nov 9, 2016; version 1.3 ★★★★★

QuotesBeginExcellent application. Clean, efficient and elegant. In my opinion quite complete in functions. After the latest innovations (CSV import / export, etc.) it has nothing to envy to more noble and expensive programs. The programmer’s availability for support and information should also be appreciated. Only the corresponding app for iPhone would be missing, in order to bring your own collection. I hope it’s in the pipeline …QuotesEnd

Translation from Italiano to English (by Google Translate)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Download_on_the_Mac_App_Store_BadgeCoins (v1.12 for macOS 10.10+) $0.99
★★★★¼ Rating: 4.2 – 5 ratings


Tags: coins reviews


Seven Cookies

Advertisements

Stamps Reviews

What are you looking for in stamp collection software?

by graeuwritere – Oct 18, 2017; version 1.9 ★★★★★

QuotesBeginIf you want a database program to inventory your postal stamps and record aquisition information, condition, denomination, perforations and size, along with the ability to attach image files of the stamps and associated certificates and documents, Stamps is it! For these needs, Stamps fulfills with aplomb. Its screens are well laid out and data entry is intuitive. It has limited options for printed reports but it does create an printed, detailed, inventory list. This is exactly what I was looking for in a postal stamp database. I wasn’t looking to develop my own album pages, nor printable arangements for sharing and display. Options for the Mac are limited in this niche. If your needs are basic, Stamps delivers with a simple interface that makes it a pleasure to use. A note about catalog numbers: Stamps has a field to enter Catalog ID. However, if a catalog number is entered in the field, it does not seem to allow sorting by the catalog number within the program’s table. If this is important to you, a work around exists. Enter the catalog number, or other ID, at the begining of the stamp description (in the stamp description field). In this way your stamps may be sorted or searched by catalog number or ID.QuotesEnd

Editor note; The current version (updated after this review) of Stamps has added the ability to sort by Catalog ID.

Simple but functional

by t0p6un – Nov 23, 2016; version 1.5 ★★★★☆

QuotesBeginIn my opinion this app has all the requirements (too many) to create a complete philatelic database. I had already tried the excellent ‘Coins’ and I think this little program is not far behind even if it lacks a few small features compared to the other. I certainly recommend those who want to keep their collection in an easy and intuitive way.QuotesEnd

Translation from Italiano to English (by Google Translate)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Download_on_the_Mac_App_Store_BadgeStamps (v1.12 for macOS 10.10+) $0.99
★★★★¾ Rating: 4.8 – 4 ratings


Tags: stamps reviews


Seven Cookies

GedGap Reviews

Begin Quotes

… takes any GEDCOM file and then rates all the birth and death event sources for each person in your tree. Scores are calculated by type of source (so a certificate is better than a census record) … making this a great tool for Mac users wishing to validate key data in their tree.

Source: Your Family History magazine, (page 94, issue 182, May 2017),“Reviews: Software & Apps”, {permission kindly granted by Andrew, (former) executive editor of YFH to use an extract of the review and the magazine’s front cover image}.

Begin QuotesA genealogy tool for the Mac that can help you plan, rate and prioritize your research plan. Can import your GEDCOM file from your family tree web site or genealogy software. It can also analyze your sources to reveal gaps in the reliability of your birth and death entries.

Source: Louis Kessler (2018) “GedGap“, Genealogy Software Reviews.

GedGap 2.0 has been released by Seven Cookies. GedGap 2.0 is a major upgrade. GedGap is a macOS program (requires OS X 10.10 or later) that is a genealogy research utility – it’s not a a full-fledged genealogy application like Heredis, MacFamilyTree, Reunion, etc. Instead, it analyzes a GEDCOM file, and provides information on things such as sources and quality/confidence of sources (or lack thereof), problems with entries (births/deaths), as well as pointing you towards areas that need more research.

Source: Chad (2017) “GedGap 2.0 Released (Update: GedGap 2.1)“, Mac Genealogy.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Download_on_the_Mac_App_Store_BadgeGedGap (v2.5 for macOS 10.11+) Free
★☆☆☆☆ Rating: 1.0 – 1 rating 😥
Ratings were reset on Nov 17, 2017 with v2.0.


Tags: gedgap reviews


Seven Cookies